The URI Foundation Excellence Awards honor University members whose hard work and dedication consistently elevate their departments and colleges. Recipients are selected by their peers for their commitment to excelling at their positions and making the University a better place for all. Shining a spotlight on the connectedness of our campus community, the Excellence Awards, which were established in 1970, acknowledge the positive impact of those who thrive and contribute every day.

Each year, after an extensive nomination process, four individuals representing the best in the following areas are chosen to receive Excellence Awards: Scholarly Excellence, Teaching Excellence, Staff Excellence, and Administrative Excellence. President David Dooley visits the recipients to notify them in person that they’ve been selected. They will be honored at a luncheon and recognition ceremony with their supervisor, family members, and friends, and receive an honorarium, framed citation, pin and plaque. They will be offered the privilege of wearing URI regalia, participating in upcoming commencement exercises, and being recognized on stage during the ceremony. 


NEWS:  The 2017 Award Recipients Have Been Named!

Join us in congratulating the following remarkable URI community members and honorees:

Douglas Michael, Assistant Director of Custodial Services, Facilities Services

Ruby Roy Dholakia, Professor, College of Business Administration

Dr. Roger Ashley, Physician, Health Services

Catherine Sama, Professor, Department of Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures

Read more about the 2017 winners.

The 2017 recipients, pictured, above, bring the total number of awardees, tallied since 1970, to nearly 190.  Appearing, l-r, URI President David M. Dooley, Ruby Dholakia, Catherine Sama, Gerry Barber, Dr. Roger Ashley, Lil Breul O'Rourke, Douglas Michael and Provost Don DeHayes.