share Printprint Decrease text size Increase text sizetext size
Give Now

URI Foundation Excellence Awards

The URI Foundation Excellence Awards were first established in 1970 to honor University staff members for their dedication and commitment.  The awards were later expanded to include additional categories of individuals who demonstrated excellence in their respective areas and whose work positively impacted the entire University community.

Each year, following an extensive nomination process led by a member of the URI Foundation Executive Board, four individuals representing the following areas are chosen to receive Excellence Awards:

  • Scholarly Excellence
  • Teaching Excellence
  • Staff Excellence
  • Administrative Excellence

2015 Awards

The winners of the 2015 Awards were honored by URI President Dooley and the URI community on May 14, 2014 during a ceremony at Swan Hall.  The four Foundation Excellence Award winners, Jerome Sidio, Cynthia Blanthorne, Mary Cappello and Michelle Caraccia were joined by a number of other individuals selected for recognition by the URI Division of Research and Economic Development. To read about all of the 2015 recipients, please click here.

The 2015 recipients bring the total number of awardees, tallied since 1970, to 182. For more information on the URIF Excellence Awards, please contact Ronda Hammond at 401.874.9532 or

Pictured above, left to right:  Sidio, Cappella, Blanthorne, Caraccia and URI Foundation Executive Board member and Excellence Committee Chair Geraldine Barber, URI President David Dooley and former URI Foundation President Mike Smith.


Excellence Award Winners

For a complete historical listing of winners since 1974, click here.

Nomination Information

Click here to view the 2015 Call for Nominations. Nominations are closed and will reopen in January, 2016 for next year's awards.

To view the 2014 Excellence Awards' nomination requirements, click here.